Innenhof und Ausblick auf die Mainau
Innenhof und Ausblick auf die Mainau

Welcome to the Conference on Multilingualism (COM) 2021

23 - 25 June 2021


We are very pleased to be able to host COM2021 in Konstanz organised by the Department of Linguistics, the project The Multilingual Mind, and the Centre for Multilingualism

Given the continuing travel restrictions and uncertainty due to COVID-19 we have decided to host COM2021 online.

About COM2021

The Conference on Multilingualism has its origin in 2005 at the University of Trento, where it was known under the name of “Workshop on Bilingualism”. In 2016, the conference was renamed to “Conference on Multilingualism” in order to include a broader range of aspects of multilingualism. It is aimed at exploring the many different aspects of multilingualism in the fields of linguistics, psychology, neurology, sociology and educational sciences. In the past, it was held in Ghent, in Leiden, and in Reading. In 2021 it is coming to Konstanz.

Keynote speakers

Francis M. Hult

University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)

Tanja Rinker

Catholic University Eichstätt-Ingolstadt

Jeanine Treffers-Daller

University of Reading

Call for papers

We invite abstracts for oral and poster presentations. The length of abstracts for both oral and poster presentations is 450 words, excluding the title and references. Please submit your abstracts on EasyChair by following this link

COM2021 will be followed by the Symposium of the European Civil Society Platform for Multilingualism (ECSPM) on the 28-29 June 2021 that will also take place online.

Key dates for COM2021:

Extended deadline for abstract submission: 5 March 2021

Notification of acceptance: 30 April 2021

Publication of programme: 7 May 2021

COM2021: 23-25 June 2021

ECSPM Symposium: 28-29 June 2021

Organising committee

Anamaria Bentea
Bernhard Brehmer
Grazia Di Pisa
Erkam Ekinci
Marieke Einfeldt
Maria Francesca Ferin
Miriam Geiß
Angelika Golegos
Kaja Gregorc
Sonja Gumbsheimer
Georg Kaiser
Tanja Kupisch
Anika Lloyd-Smith
Theo Marinis
Malinka Pila
Sergio Miguel Pereira Soares
Elisabeth Süß
Svenja Schmid 

Scientific committee

Ian Cunnings (University of Reading)
Cheryl Frenck-Mestre (Université Aix Marseille)
Robert Hartsuiker (Gent University)
Niels Schiller (University of Leiden)
Ludovica Serratrice (University of Reading)

University of Konstanz
Department of Linguistics
Universitaetsstrasse 10
78457 Konstanz

This workshop is funded by the MultiMind project (EU Horizon2020 Marie Skłodowska Curie grant agreement No 765556).