Heritage Language Syntax 4

About Heritage Language Syntax 4

Heritage languages and their speakers have become the focus of various areas of linguistic research, particularly because the grammar of heritage speakers provides a provide a window of opportunity to observe language change and contact between grammars.  

Heritage Language Syntax is a workshop first organized at the University of Utrecht within the ERC Microcontact focusing on the syntax of heritage grammars.

After an in-person edition in Paris, the 4th edition of Heritage Language Syntax (HLS 4) will take place in the Wolkensteinsaal in Konstanz, Germany.

Invited Speakers

Jill Jegerski, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Tanja Kupisch, University of Konstanz, UiT The Arctic University of Norway

Natalia Meir, Bar-Ilan University

Monika S. Schmid, University of York

Call for Papers

We invite abstracts for oral presentations on any topics in heritage language syntax and syntactic processing, with particular attention to structural aspects of heritage languages, how these are shaped by cross-linguistic influence or transfer from the heritage speakers’ dominant language, how language attrition impacts on this and whether it leads to different representational outcomes in the heritage grammar.

Submission guidelines

Abstracts should be fully anonymous and no longer than 500 words maximum (Times New Roman size 12, with one additional page for examples, figures, tables, and references). Submissions are limited to a maximum of one individual and one joint abstract per author. Please submit your abstracts on EasyChair by following this link

Presentations will be 20 minutes, followed by 10 minutes for discussion.

All questions about submissions should be emailed to: hls2023@uni-konstanz.de

Important dates

NEW extended deadline for abstract submission: 20 April 2023

Notification of acceptance (extended): 5 May 2023

Publication of programme: 15 May 2023

Registration: 22 May 2023 to 22 June 2023

Workshop dates: 3-4 July 2023

Scientific Committee

Larisa Avram

Fatih Bayram

Bernhard Brehmer

Evangelia Daskalaki

Grazia Di Pisa

Zuzanna Fuchs

Jill Jegerski

Maki Kubota

Tanja Kupisch

Anika Lloyd-Smith

Natalia Meir

Jacopo Torregrossa

Organising Committee

Anamaria Bentea

Maria Ferin

Angelika Golegos

Kaja Gregorc

Theo Marinis

Elena Soare

Elisabeth Süß




This workshop is funded by the ProHeritageSpeakers project, which has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Sklodowska-Curie grant agreement No 101026216, and the IRN Heritage Languages in Europe, supported by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and hosted by the lab Structures Formelles du Langage & Université Paris 8.